Posted on: 9 February 2018
If you're going to be in Utah and you plan on drinking while you're there, it's crucial that you understand the state's DUI laws. They're among the most stringent in the United States. Being pulled over for a suspected DUI, and blowing high – having a high blood alcohol content on the breathalyzer test – will land you in jail. Unfortunately, if you're not aware of Utah's DUI laws, you may drink and not even realize that you're going to exceed the legal limit. Before you head out for a drink while you're in Utah, here are four things you need to know about their DUI laws.
They've Got a Low BAC Limit
When it comes to BAC limits, Utah's is among the lowest in the United States. Driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.05% will get you arrested and charged with a DUI. It doesn't take much to fail a breathalyzer test in the state of Utah.
You're Going to Need Legal Help
If you're arrested for a DUI in the state of Utah, the one thing you'll need to remember is that you're going to need legal help. If you're convicted of a DUI, the judge will take a lot of things into consideration during the penalty phase of the process. Some of the things that the judge will consider will be your driving record, prior DUI convictions, your age, and whether there were minors in the car when you were arrested. An attorney will be able to help you through the process and will make sure that any mitigating circumstances will be considered before sentencing.
The Penalties May be Stiff
If you're convicted of a DUI while you're in Utah, the penalties may be stiff. Utah takes driving under the influence very seriously. If this will be your first offense, you may be have your license suspended for about 120 days. You'll also be placed on probation, which means the penalties will be much harsher if you're arrested again during the probation period. You'll probably also be slapped with a hefty cash fine. If this will be your second offense, you're going to lose your license for about 2 years and your fine will be much higher. Not only that, but you could be looking at prison time, and mandatory BAC monitoring.
If you're going to be driving in Utah, make sure you avoid being pulled over for a DUI. If you do find yourself being charged with a DUI, make sure you contact an attorney as soon as possible. Contact an attorney or click here for more information.Share